Coaches and Directors

Players North strives to provide the highest level training possible for our young players.  Our Directors have assembled a “Professional Quality” coaching staff that is beyond compare in Northern Nevada.  Many of our coaches bring experience across all levels of soccer: including the professional game, Olympic Development Programs, and some of the most respected Collegiate Programs in country.

Randy Ritter : President and Co-Founder, Great Basin Youth Soccer League President and former League Commissioner and Director of Northern Nevada Olympic Development Program.

Heather Johnson: Vice-President and Co-Founder, USSF C License.

Rob Range : Executive Director, USSF D License, Co-Director Northern Nevada Olympic Development Program, Nevada Youth Soccer Association Vice President.

Jason Goodson : Director of Coaching, USSF A License, National Premier Diploma, UEFA B License, Northern Nevada ODP Coach, former recruiting coordinator for Washington State University, Ohio State University and Universtity of Kentucky.  Previously worked with the Japanese Football Association, Leahi Soccer Club of Hawaii and Sereno Soccer club of Arizona.

Marco Merlo : Director of Methodology and Technical Director, USSF A License, USSF Coach Instructor, Head Coach Galena High School, Former Director of Coaching at Nevada United and Sagebrush Soccer Clubs, Northern Nevada ODP Coach.

Dustin Espindula : Academy Director, USSF C License.

Club Training Staff:

Anibal “A1” Echeverria : Professional player with Reno 1868, Ontario Fury, and Sacramento Surge.

Brian Slusser : USSF A License, TMCC Mens and Womens Head Coach, Northern Nevada ODP Coach, Region IV ODP Camp Coach.


Our professional staff is complemented by a dedicated team of volunteer and part-time coaches.

Our team head coaches include:

Josh Backman (USSF D), Sean Canty (USSF C), Jason Clydesdale, Robert Corbin (USSF E), Dustin Espindula (USSF C), Julio Espinoza (NYSA D), Steve Estipona (USSF C), Josh Etchegoyen, Mike Faker, Emma Goodson, Jason Goodson (USSF A, UEFA B), Dan Graffam, David Harder, Jason Hefner, Rodney Helsel (USSF F), Joseph Henry, Steve Heyder (USSF D, UEFA C), David Hofman (USSF F), Anacleto Jacobo (USSF E), Heather Johnson (USSF C), Marco Lamaestra, Jeremiah Lee, Izzy Lemus, Rafa Madariaga, Joseph Mavis, Chris McMillan, Ernesto Oliden, Yuli Parada (USSF F), Ron Parsons, Jeremy Phillips, Rob Range (USSF D), Carlos Rivera (USSF F), Steve Russell (USSF E), Kristen Scurlock, Casey Tate (USSF A, Reno 1868 Assistant), Cesar Tobar, Peter Wallstrum, Scott Weissman